Island States/Island Territories Conference (March 2019)

Sharing Stories of Island Life, Governance and Global Engagement
The 1st International Conference on
Small Island States (SIS) and Subnational Island Jurisdictions (SNIJs)

Location: Oranjestad, Aruba
Venue: University of Aruba
Dates: 26-29 March 2019

Official conference website



We are thrilled to announce that our Island States/Island Territories Conference, originally planned for the University of St. Martin for March 2018, has been rescheduled. The University of Aruba, along with the Aruba Centre of Excellence (COE) for the Sustainable Development of Small Island Developing States, and the UNESCO Chair in Island Studies and Sustainability at the University of Prince Edward Island and University of Malta, will host the conference at the University of Aruba, March 26-29, 2019.

All presenters giving papers related to the mandate of the Small States and Territories Journal will be invited to submit an expanded paper version of their presentations to a themed section of a forthcoming issue of this peer-reviewed journal.

Presenters giving papers at the conference on socio-cultural topics will be invited to submit expanded versions of their presentations to the journal Shima for consideration for inclusion in a themed section or theme issue (dependent on number of submissions accepted).

CALL FOR PAPERS | Deadline for abstracts was November 23, 2018. This is now closed.


Starting with Ethiopia in 1941, no less than 129 countries have achieved independence in the last 70-odd years. This trend has been spearheaded by former colonies pressing for, and achieving, full sovereignty, as well as by the breakup of morally bankrupt empires (Soviet Union, Yugoslavia) in the face of agitations for self-determination. Models of 21st-century world governance are based on, and organized around, the sovereign state. There are now 193 such members in the United Nations. Most international and regional organizations, as well as diplomatic efforts, imply the exclusive operation of sovereign, independent states and their representatives. But: this impetus towards sovereignty has ground largely to a halt. Only four states have secured independence since 1993; East Timor, Montenegro, Kosovo and South Sudan; of these, one (Kosovo) remains partially recognized and another (South Sudan) is caught in a deadly civil war. MORE

Supported by the UNESCO Co-Chairs in Island Studies and Sustainability at
University of Prince Edward Island/University of Malta,
The University of Aruba, and
the Centre of Excellence for the Sustainability of Small Island Developing States,
Oranjestad, Aruba



TWITTER · Facebook · Instagram · YouTube · NEWSLETTER

© 2021 Institute of Island Studies, University of Prince Edward Island. All rights reserved.